Money Diary: PhD Student In Gloucestershire On 14.5k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.

This week we're with a final-year PhD student who left a well-paid sales job in London to head back into full-time education. She lives with her parents and manages to save most of her money, which enables her to live off her £14,500 yearly grant. Anticipating an expensive few months ahead while she and her boyfriend buy a house, she is trying to be very sensible with money.
Industry: University/ Education
Age: 29
Location: Gloucestershire
Salary: My income is a bit of a weird one… As a PhD student, I have a bursary to live on. I receive around £14,700 per year, tax-free, which works out as the equivalent of someone earning around £22,000 (and paying tax, NI, student loan, etc.), I think.
Paycheque amount per month: I am paid quarterly (shock horror!); each payment is around £3,676.50, which works out at about £1,223 per month.
Number of housemates: I currently split my time between living at home with my parents and spending time at my boyfriend's house-share of 3.

Monthly Expenses

Housing costs
: £0. I am incredibly lucky that while I am studying my parents are happy for me to live at home, rent-free. The other half of my time I spend at my boyfriend’s house, where I am also lucky enough not to have to pay rent (although I do like to contribute here and there to bills/ milk/ tea/ biscuits/ beer fund, to keep everyone happy).
Loan payments: £150. I have a credit card but I use it sparingly. I only really like to spend what I know I can afford to pay off in full at the end of the month.
Utilities: £50 (token payments to boyfriend and parents each month).
Transportation: £250. This one is a bit of a killer. It is amazing that I am able to live at home rent-free but this does mean I have to travel to uni – a 100-mile round trip! Luckily, I only need to go in around twice a week on average, but it does mean my biggest outgoing is petrol.
Phone bill: £34.50
Savings: I try and put away at least a few hundred pounds each month, although as the house purchase has been getting nearer, I have been putting away as much as I can physically afford – usually around £400 per month.

Total: £884.50

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.