Money Diary: Junior Doctor In Stoke-On-Trent On 62.8k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week, we're with a junior doctor who is training to become an orthopaedic surgeon. She and her husband are buying a house at the moment. It's a new-build and they've paid half the deposit already, so they're trying hard to save up for the second half while keeping some money aside for furniture!
Industry: Healthcare
Age: 33
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Salary: £62,968 is my annual salary but I usually do quite a bit of overtime – last year, I earned about £75,000.
Paycheque amount per month: £3,400 (without overtime)
Number of housemates: 1 (my husband)
Monthly Expenses
Rent: £375 (my half of £750)
Utilities: My half of council tax/ Sky/ gas & electricity/ water/ TV licence is £125.22
Transportation: I walk to work as we only live five minutes away but pay half of my husband’s petrol costs as he has a 45-minute commute – normally this is about £75.
Phone bill: £30
Savings: I put £940 in my ISA each month… kind of an emergency/ retirement fund
Mortgage insurance: My half is £85. This is a new expense since we exchanged contracts on our house.
Total: £1,545.22

More from Work & Money


R29 Original Series

Watch Now
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.