Money Diary: A PR In Dublin On 22k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with a 25-year-old in Dublin who's moved back in with her parents while she starts a new job and figures out how to manage her money for the very first time...
"I’ve recently moved back home from living abroad, and started a new job. I’ve only had one full paycheque so far, so I’m slowly learning to budget. Like every millennial, I flitter between panicking about the future and being frugal, and treating myself, because why not? Realistically I’ll never be able to afford a house, and paying the sky-high rates in Dublin feels like the equivalent of burning money right now.
I love to travel, so have a permanent list of places I want to go. I try to keep some money set aside for these trips. I had some grand ideas about taking six months to do a trip across Central and South America, but instead I succumbed to the corporate life and got a job.
It’s been a huge change living with my parents and adjusting to work life. So far so good, I think. I’m usually so bad at budgeting but I’m trying to learn and get better each month. I have a top-up only bank card I try to upload to every once in a while, but in the past month I’ve forgotten to use it.
I know I probably spend too much on coffee and eating out, but it's the main way I socialise and catch up with friends and family. Finding good restaurants and having nice meals with my favourite people are some of my favourite things to do."
Industry: Communications
Age: 25
Location: Dublin
Salary: €25,000 (£22,000)
Paycheque amount: €1,819 monthly (£1,601)
Number of housemates: Living with my parents until I can afford to move out (but I've only just started my job and Dublin is in the middle of a housing crisis and rents are insane, so I'll be home for another few months until I've saved enough and found the right place).
Monthly Expenses
Housing costs: €300 (£264) per month to my parents
Loan payments: €0
Transportation: €40-50 (£35-44) on petrol
Phone bill: Currently on a pay as you go plan, so I usually top up monthly by €20 (£17.61) (in the process of scouting for a better deal elsewhere with better coverage).
Savings? I actually don’t have a savings account, I just mentally set aside money in my account that’s not to be spent. I’ve been meaning to open one though.
Credit card: Varies monthly, depending on what I’ve been doing or whether I've been away. Last month’s bill was €110 (£96.83).
Other: Gym membership €29 (£25.53), Spotify €9.99 (£8.79).

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Documentary
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.