Money Diary: Events Organiser In London On 37k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.

This week, we're with a 29-year-old events organiser living in south London in a flat that she owns. She's recently taken a big financial hit by way of an awkward break-up that cost her a lot of money (they lived together), so is trying to save up to pay back kind friends and family.

Industry: Events
Age: 29
Location: London
Salary: £37,000
Paycheque amount per month: £1,985.44 after tax and student loan
Number of housemates: 1

Monthly Expenses

Housing costs: £635 (mortgage). I’m really lucky in that I had some inheritance money a couple of years ago that allowed me to buy a flat. I rent out my second room, which helps me to cover the costs.
Loan payments: £25 (Cycle to Work scheme)
Utilities: £350
Transportation: +/- £30. I commute in and out of work by bike most of the time, which helps me to keep costs down and stay healthy at the same time. I lose track of what I spend on contactless on the evenings and weekends but guess it's around £30/month, although this doesn’t take into account drunken Ubers across London...
Phone bill: £27
Credit card: £45
Savings? LOL

Total: £1,112

More from Work & Money


R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.