Money Diary: Communications Coordinator In Bristol On 26k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with a communications coordinator on 26k who lives in Bristol and has quite a busy couple of months ahead. First up, she's buying a house and then, early next year, she's getting married as well! How will her finances hold up under the pressure?
Industry: Finance
Age: 26
Location: Bristol
Salary: £26,000
Paycheque amount per month: £1,633 (after tax and pension)
Number of housemates: 1 (my fiancé)
Monthly Expenses
Rent (soon to be mortgage!): £400 into the joint account
Utilities: My half of council tax/ Sky/ gas & electricity/ water/ TV licence is £100
Transportation: £0 – I live close to the city centre so I walk everywhere.
Loan: £100 per month to pay off the cost of my master’s degree.
Phone bill: £15 (as long as I’m good and don’t use up all my data too quickly!)
Gym: I’m a Move GB member – I pay weekly (£8.49) so that comes to £34 for a month.
Spotify: My fiancé and family all leech off me for my Family account – £14.99
Savings: Whatever is left at the end of the month goes into our wedding fund right now. This is usually around £200.
Total: £1,088.99

More from Work & Money


R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.