Instagram Will Notify You If Someone Screenshots Your DM

Creepers, consider yourself warned: You can't creep in secret on Instagram anymore.

Instagram's new update lets you send self-destructing messages to your friends (kind of — maybe — like Snapchat) and Mashable reports that your friends will be notified if you take a screenshot of those messages.
The notifications will seem very familiar to anyone who uses Snapchat. Send a "disappearing message" to a friend who decides to screenshot it and you'll get a message on your phone letting you know.

Haven't used the disappearing message feature on Insta yet? When you log on, swipe from left to right on your screen and a camera window appears, allowing you to take a photo, video, or Boomerang, and send it to a friend or group. It might remind you of Snapchat.
It's important to know that the notifications are only for the new disappearing message feature, not the new stories feature or images in your feed, so you can still creep those in anonymity. For now.
Advertisement

More from Tech

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Documentary
Five love stories behind diverse, multicultural marriages.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Life experiments, 5 days at a time.
Watch Now
Fashion
The style of subculture.
Watch Now
Beauty
Viral trends, tried and tested.
Watch Now
Documentary
From vibrators to lipstick, learn how your favorite products are made.
Watch Now
Documentary
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
Documentary
The latest stories to watch.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Inside the homes of millennial women — & what they paid for them
Watch Now
Comedy
Let's talk about sex, baby.
Watch Now
Documentary
Female artisans around the world
Watch Now
Politics
Made by and for smart, opinionated women.
Watch Now
Film
We helped 12 female directors claim their power.