Solange Announces New Album In A Very Unconventional Way

Solange took a page out Beyoncé's book with last week's cryptic social media posts. Now, she's made good on what we maybe-kind-of thought she was promising: New music.

Solange officially announced that she'd be releasing a new album, A Seat at the Table, on September 30, according to Billboard.

Knowles tweeted her excitement about the project.
She followed through on her promise to gift 86 followers with a seat at the table, using a handsome leatherbound volume as promotional material. Take a look at some of the Instagram images.

Thank you for letting me have #aSeatAtTheTable @saintrecords 🌿

A photo posted by OUTLAW (@sonnie.daze) on

The book included lyrics, a tracklist, and some images. If you weren't one of the lucky 86, you can check out a digital copy here.

So we have a mere three days to wait until there's new Solange music. A Seat at the Table will be her first original release since 2012's True EP.

Here's the tracklist.

“Weary” (additional vocals blessed by Tweet)
“Interlude: the Glory Is in You”
“Cranes in the Sky”
“Interlude: Dad Was Mad”
“Mad” feat. Lil Wayne (additional vocals blessed by Moses Sumney and Tweet)
“Don't You Wait”
“Interlude: Tina Taught Me”
“Don't Touch My Hair” feat. Sampha
“Interlude: This Moment” (additional vocals Devonte Hynes of Houston Texas and Lu of Carolina)
“Where Do We Go” (additional vocals blessed by Sean Nicholas Savage)
“Interlude: For Us By Us”
"F.U.B.U.” feat. The-Dream & BJ the Chicago Kid (additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
“Borderline (An Ode to Self Care)” feat. Q-Tip
“Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It” feat. Kelly Rowland & Nia Andrews
“Interlude: No Limits”
“Don't Wish Me Well”
“Interlude: Pedestals”
“Scales” feat. Kelela
"Closing: The Chosen Ones”

More from Music


R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Five love stories behind diverse, multicultural marriages.
Watch Now
Life experiments, 5 days at a time.
Watch Now
The style of subculture.
Watch Now
Viral trends, tried and tested.
Watch Now
From vibrators to lipstick, learn how your favorite products are made.
Watch Now
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
The latest stories to watch.
Watch Now
Inside the homes of millennial women — & what they paid for them
Watch Now
Let's talk about sex, baby.
Watch Now
Female artisans around the world
Watch Now
Made by and for smart, opinionated women.
Watch Now
We helped 12 female directors claim their power.