Money Diary: An Environmental Scientist Living In Dublin On 38k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with a 27-year-old environmental scientist who lives in Dublin with her boyfriend, a friend and a dog.
Occupation: Environmental Scientist
Industry: Utilities
Age: 27
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Salary: £38,000
Paycheque amount: £1,010, twice a month
Monthly Expenses
Housing: £330 to share the master bedroom of an apartment with my boyfriend. (He also pays £330.) The apartment is shared with one flatmate and my dog.
Loan payments: I pay at least £330 a month towards credit card debt that I stupidly got myself into during uni.
Gym membership: £49
Mobile phone: £16 top-up. Includes unlimited data — such a bargain in Ireland!
Electricity: £62.57 for my third of the bill. (This can be significantly higher in winter.)
Dog food & treats: £22
Transport: £18.40 a month to top up my travel card, which is valid on the regional train, bus and tram.
Netflix: Mooch off my parents still.
Health insurance: My boyfriend's employer miraculously covers both of us.
City car share: Boyfriend pays for our membership, although I reimburse him for trips sometimes.
Savings: I try to save £220 per month.
Pension: 5%, deducted pre-tax from my salary. My employer matches 7%.

More from Work & Money


R29 Original Series

Watch Now
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.