A Week In Dublin, Ireland On A $50,400 Salary

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last dollar.
This week: an environmental scientist who makes $50,400 per year and spends some of it on a "jambon."
Occupation: Environmental Scientist
Industry: Utilities
Age: 27
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Salary: $50,400
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,372
Monthly Expenses
Housing: $450 to share the master bedroom of an apartment with my boyfriend. (He also pays $450.) The apartment is shared with one flatmate and my dog.
Loan Payments: I pay at least $450/month towards credit card debt that I stupidly got myself into during grad school.
All Other Monthly Expenses
Gym Membership: $67
Mobile Phone: $22 top-up. Includes unlimited data — such a bargain in Ireland!
Electricity: ~$85 for my third of the bill. (This can be significantly higher in winter.)
Dog Food & Treats: ~$30
Transport: ~$25/month to top up my travel card, which is valid on the regional train, bus, and tram.
Netflix: Mooch off my parents still.
Health Insurance: My boyfriend's employer miraculously covers both of us.
City Car Share: Boyfriend pays for our membership, although I reimburse him for trips sometimes.
Savings: I try to save ~$300 per month.
Pension: 5%, deducted pre-tax from my salary. My employer matches 7%.

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Documentary
Five love stories behind diverse, multicultural marriages.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Life experiments, 5 days at a time.
Watch Now
Fashion
The style of subculture.
Watch Now
Beauty
Viral trends, tried and tested.
Watch Now
Documentary
From vibrators to lipstick, learn how your favorite products are made.
Watch Now
Documentary
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
Documentary
The latest stories to watch.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Inside the homes of millennial women — & what they paid for them
Watch Now
Comedy
Let's talk about sex, baby.
Watch Now
Documentary
Female artisans around the world
Watch Now
Politics
Made by and for smart, opinionated women.
Watch Now
Film
We helped 12 female directors claim their power.