Money Diary: 23-Year-Old Advertising Executive On 25k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with a 23-year-old just starting her career in advertising and getting used to the higher prices of London living. What with a date, a weekend away and a night out with friends, she's in for a very busy (and potentially expensive) week...
Industry: Advertising
Age: 23
Location: London
Salary: £25,000
Paycheque amount per month: £1,609
Number of housemates: Three. Two other girls, we started out strangers but are now proper friends.
Monthly Expenses
Housing costs: £750 for my room, seems crazy expensive but is relatively cheap for London!
Loan payments: £21 student loan, probably never going to pay this all off
Utilities: £70/80 usually, council tax is the killer payment – £42
Transportation: £123 for a Zone 1-2 travel card
Phone bill: £36.99 (this gets me 3GB data but I often need to top up)
Savings: Currently put £20 in a month as I’m still paying off a credit card and that comes first.
Other: Now TV £6.99, to feed my Grey’s Anatomy addiction. Also Birchbox £12.95, although thinking of getting rid after this month as haven’t been that impressed.

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.