Money Diaries Logo

Money Diary: An Account Director On £48,000

Welcome to Money Diaries where we are tackling the ever-present taboo that is money. We’re asking real people how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last penny.
This week: “I’m a 33-year-old toddler mum and wife living in County Durham. I’ve worked in marketing since graduating at 21 and have worked both in-house and agency roles (predominantly agency). I’m currently focusing on rebuilding my savings following maternity leave and a house move, so I’m always looking for ways to increase my side hustle. I would say another big focus I have this year is trying to find a more comfortable balance and to find a rhythm for life that isn’t so full on.”
Occupation: Account director 
Industry: Marketing agency 
Age: 33
Location: County Durham
Salary: £48,000 pro rata
Paycheque Amount: £2,300 plus side hustle (varies, but on average £150 per month) 
Number of housemates: Two, husband B and two-year-old son, T.
Pronouns: She/her
Monthly Expenses
Housing costs: £460 for my half of the mortgage.
Loan payments: £270 for undergraduate and postgraduate loans (taken from my salary).
Savings?: £3,500 in stocks and shares and £1,200 in a LISA. Both moving house and not being entitled to anything other than state maternity allowance really depleted my savings. 
Utilities: My half comes to: £21 water; £112 council tax £111 gas and electric; £25 Sky internet and TV.
Pension?: I pay 5% and my company matches it. I’m currently in the process of combining pensions as I have five and want them all in one place. In total, I only have about £25,000.  
All other monthly payments: My half comes to: £600 childcare; £20 life insurance; £2 Tesco delivery subscription; £10 Etsy fees (which depend on sales).
Subscriptions: My own subscriptions include: £8.99 Amazon Prime; £11 Spotify £11; £5.99 Freetrade; £8 phone bill. 
Did you participate in any form of higher education? If yes, how did you pay for it? Yes, I did an undergraduate degree in English literature and a part-time master’s degree a year ago. I took out a student loan for both, and worked during both. During my undergraduate I had a part-time job in retail as well as an unpaid internship. During my MA I was employed full time, and attended classes/studied in the evening. 
Growing up, what kind of conversations did you have about money?
Money was never talked about. Both my parents worked but my mum switched to part time when she had child number three. To this day my family does not talk about money in a healthy way. I learnt everything I know about finances myself through trial and error and a lot of reading! 
If you have, when did you move out of your parents’/guardians’ house?
I moved out at 18 to go to university. I came home for three months at the age of 26 before getting a house with my now husband. 
At what age did you become financially responsible for yourself? Does anyone else cover any aspects of your financial life?
I would say at 18 (my parents refused to be my guarantors for uni accommodation which was another reason a part-time job was necessary). When I came home for the three months I paid rent and utilities.
What was your first job and why did you get it?
I worked from 13 at a local hairdressers and I got £15 for eight hours on a Saturday. I then moved into a retail job at 16, then hospitality at 18. 
Do you worry about money now?
Yes. I know I’m in a very privileged situation but I constantly worry about saving enough for my child’s future and ensuring I don’t have to work until I’m 68 (or whatever they decide to extend the retirement age to!).
Do you or have you ever received passive or inherited income?
When I passed my driving test my grandma gifted me £2,000 towards my first car.