The 2017 Oscar Nominations Have Been Announced

Photo: Courtesy of A24.
Pictured: Moonlight
Welcome to the day when all of Hollywood wakes up at the crack of dawn, and not because their fancy-schmancy personal trainers are splashing buckets of cold coconut water in their faces. The 2017 Oscar nominations were just announced this morning at 8:18 a.m. EST by the likes of past winners Brie Larson and Jennifer Hudson. Commence the ordering of celebratory floral arrangements, the sending of congratulatory texts, and the waving of fists as you realize your favorite film of the year got snubbed. Those nominated can now move on to drafting their acceptance speeches and fielding requests from fashion designers who want to see their gowns on the red carpet. The rest of us can tweak our predictions, pore over Pinterest for Oscar-shaped party snacks, and make plans to actually watch these movies. Be sure to allow plenty of time for daydreaming about Ryan Gosling in a tux. Without further ado, here are the films and people vying for an Academy Award on February 26. Justin Timberlake did well, Hugh Grant and Amy Adams did not, and the makers of La La Land should just bring an armored van to the ceremony. Congratulations to all the nominees.
Best Film
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
La La Land
Manchester By The Sea
Best Actor
Casey Affleck, Manchester By The Sea
Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
Ryan Gosling, La La Land
Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
Denzel Washington, Fences
Best Actress
Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Ruth Negga, Loving
Natalie Portman, Jackie
Emma Stone, La La Land
Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins
Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis, Fences
Naomie Harris, Moonlight
Nicole Kidman, Lion
Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures
Michelle Williams, Manchester By The Sea
Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges, Manchester By The Sea
Dev Patel, Lion
Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals
Photo: Courtesy of Paramount Pictures.
Pictured: Fences
Best Director
Denis Villeneuve, Arrival
Damien Chazelle, La La Land
Mel Gibson, Hacksaw Ridge
Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
Best Animated Feature Film
Kubo and the Two Strings
My Life as a Zucchini
The Red Turtle
Best Original Screenplay
Damien Chazelle, La La Land
Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou, The Lobster
Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
Mike Mills, 20th Century Women
Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water Best Adapted Screenplay
Luke Davies, Lion
Eric Heisserer, Arrival
Barry Jenkins and story by Tarell Alvin McCraney, Moonlight
Theodore Melfi and Allison Schroeder, Hidden Figures
August Wilson, Fences
Best Documentary Feature
Fire at Sea
I Am Not Your Negro
Life, Animated
O.J.: Made in America
Best Foreign Language Film
Land of Mine (Denmark)
A Man Called Ove (Sweden)
The Salesman (Iran)
Tanna (Australia)
Toni Erdmann (Germany)
Best Cinematography
Arrival (Bradford Young)
La La Land (Linus Sandgren)
Lion (Grieg Fraser)
Moonlight (James Laxton)
Silence (Rodgrio Pietro)

Best Film Editing
Arrival (Joe Walker)
Hacksaw Ridge (John Gilbert)
Hell or High Water (Jake Roberts)
La La Land (Tom Cross)
Moonlight (Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders) Best Costume Design
Allied (Joanna Johnston)
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Colleen Atwood)
Florence Foster Jenkins (Consolata Boyle)
Jackie (Madeline Fontaine)
La La Land (Mary Zophres)
Best Makeup & Hair Styling
A Man Called Ove (Eva von Bahr and Love Larson)
Star Trek Beyond (Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo)
Suicide Squad (Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson)
Photo: Dale Robinette/Black Label Media/REX/Shutterstock.
Pictured: La La Land

Best Original Score
Jackie (Mica Levi)
La La Land (Justin Hurwitz)
Lion (Dustin O'Halloran, Hauschka)
Moonlight (Nicholas Britell)
Passengers (Thomas Newman) Best Original Song
"Audition (The Fools Who Dream)" (La La Land, Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul)
"Can’t Stop the Feeling" (Trolls, Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster)
"City of Stars" (La La Land, Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul)
"The Empty Chair" (Jim: The James Foley Story, Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting)
"How Far I'll Go" (Moana, Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda Best Production Design
Arrival (Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Paul Hotte)
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Production Design: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock)
Hail, Caesar! (Production Design: Jess Gonchor; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh)
La La Land (Production Design: David Wasco; Set Decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco)
Passengers (Production Design: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena)

Best Sound Editing
Arrival (Sylvain Bellemare)
Deepwater Horizon (Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli)
Hacksaw Ridge (Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright)
La La Land (Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan)
Sully (Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman)
Best Sound Mixing
Arrival (Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye)
Hacksaw Ridge (Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace)
La La Land (Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow)
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson)
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi (Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth) Best Visual Effects
Deepwater Horizon (Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton)
Doctor Strange (Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould)
The Jungle Book (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon)
Kubo and the Two Strings (Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff)
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould) Best Animated Short
Blind Vaysha (Theodore Ushev)
Borrowed Time (Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj)
Pear Cider and Cigarettes (Robert Valley and Cara Speller)
Pearl (Patrick Osborne)
Piper (Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer) Best Documentary Short
Extremis (Dan Krauss)
4.1 Miles (Daphne Matziaraki)
Joe’s Violin (Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen)
Watani: My Homeland (Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis)
The White Helmets (Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara) Best Live Action Short
Ennemis Interieurs (Slim Azzazi)
La Femme et le TGV (Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff)
Silent Nights (Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson)
Sing (Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy)
Timecode (Juanjo Gimenez)

More from Movies

R29 Original Series