And, The CFDA Award Winners Are…

Photo: Billy Farrell/
Update: The 2015 winners were announced at last night's CFDA Awards ceremony in New York City. See the update list below. And, congratulations to all!

This story was originally publish March 17, 2015.
Congregated at the Top of the Rock last night, Diane von Furstenberg, Steven Kolb, and the rest of the Council of Fashion Designers of America honored some of the most esteemed members of the fashion community. This year, the number of nominees for each award was increased from three to five — “like the Oscars,” von Furtstenberg pointed out — but one essential element of the annual event stayed constant: the caliber of talent being called out. Michael Kors, Marc Jacobs, and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen will be vying for the title of Womenswear Designer of the Year. Meanwhile, Betsey Johnson — a four-time CFDA winner whose recent business ups and downs have played out publicly — was named the recipient of this year’s Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. In an unexpected but very appropriate twist, the media award is going to Instagram. But, perhaps the most exciting recognitions of the evening were the nominees for the Swarovski Awards: Hood By Air’s Shayne Oliver; Public School’s women's collection, which is barely a year old, and Rosie Assoulin's reinvented red carpet designs. Not only is it amazing to see these young, innovative brands earning much-deserved recognition, but we’re also pretty stoked to see what the winning designers will be able to do with access to those Swarovski crystal resources. Shine on, indeed. Womenswear Designer of the Year Award:
Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
Marc Jacobs
Michael Kors
Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row Menswear Designer of the Year Award:
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School
David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for rag & bone
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Tom Ford Accessory Designer of the Year Award:
Alexander Wang
Irene Neuwirth
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Tabitha Simmons Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School
Rosie Assoulin
Ryan Roche Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air
Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, and Samantha Orley for Orley
Ariel and Shimon Ovadia for Ovadia & Sons Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Paul Andrew
Eva Zuckerman for Eva Fehren
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Betsey Johnson The Media Award:
Instagram The Founders Award:
Millard “Mickey” Drexler, Chairman and CEO of J.Crew Group, Inc. The International Award:
Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino

More from Designers

R29 Original Series