Money Diary: A (Very) Single Mum In Buckinghamshire On 33k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week: "I am a (very) single mum to a 9-year-old boy (SB) who has a bit of an attitude, and thinks he is older and wiser than he is. Unfortunately, his dad is not a nice person and was very abusive towards me for many years. Because of this, he is now in prison, so he does not help financially or pay anything towards caring for SB – he will be there for at least another three years.
Our son didn’t see him for the first two years he went to prison, however, I thought it better for SB to make up his own mind about him. When his dad is out, he will be a teenager and I cannot legally stop them from seeing each other. I don’t want him to idolise his dad or continue thinking he didn’t do anything wrong. SB isn’t entirely sure why his dad is there, but knows it was because he was violent.
I have worked in the same place for more than 10 years and they have been supportive through everything I went through, and a massive help. Women’s Aid also saved my life, and helped me get out of the relationship.
SB goes to see his dad’s family and stays with them once or twice a month, to give me a break, and that way he gets to see his cousins. I get on really well with his family and they are nothing like SB’s dad. They are lovely people."
 
Industry: Sales
Age: 32
Location: Buckinghamshire
Salary: £33,000
Paycheque amount: Between £1,900-£2,500 depending on commission.
Number of housemates: My son (SB) and a cat (P).
Monthly Expenses
 
Housing costs: £995 rent.
Loan payments: £62 for a credit card and £75 to parents because they helped me with the deposit on the house that I now rent. 
Utilities: Council tax including single person’s discount £132, water £28, electricity and gas £60, internet £32, Sky £58, Netflix £9.99, Now TV £7.99. (I want to cancel Sky but I'm watching 90 Day Fiancé and they keep releasing new episodes and spinoff series and I cannot get TLC on Now TV!!!!)
Transportation: £0-£50. I use my mum’s car at the weekend so pay for petrol occasionally but no other costs for the car (cheers Mum). I walk to and from work and am an occasional 'bus wanker'.
Phone bill: £17
Savings? I have about £565 but this is for school holidays to pay for holiday clubs, and a hidden away £600 for my holiday to Italy next June.
Other: Pension £80-£100 a month depending on commission, breakfast and after-school clubs £50-£100 normal month but around £350 during school holidays, son’s football club (local team) £14 (school team) £16, Cubs £11, Xbox Live £4.99 all monthly.

More from Living

R29 Original Series