Money Diary: A 24-Year-Old Junior Doctor In Nottingham

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with a junior doctor living in Nottingham. Her life consists of long hours and busy days, which means she's not got a lot of time for eating home-cooked meals. Nevertheless, she still manages to fit in exercising, socialising and a bit of revising. How do her finances fit into this? Let's find out...
Industry: Junior Doctor
Age: 24
Location: Nottingham
Salary: Basic is £27,000 but overtime and nights takes it to £32k gross this year
Paycheque amount: Varies with overtime but averages at £2,000 take home per month
Number of housemates: 2
Monthly Expenses
Housing costs (rent): £300
Loan payments: £0
Utilities: £120
Transportation: £100 (bus pass)
Phone bill: £15
Pension: Fixed NHS contributions (currently 9%, but goes up as the salary goes up)
Savings: £250 pm to Nationwide regular saver, £200 to HL S+S LISA (currently I have about £3,000 in savings)
Love reading Money Diaries? Love commenting on Money Diaries? Want to hear MORE from the diarists themselves? Join our Money Diary Facebook Group, where our OPs will share an exclusive reflection on their week and their spending.

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.