Money Diary: A 28-Year-Old Career Changer & Fashion Student In Dublin

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week: "After a period of extreme stress which peaked with me getting signed off work for exhaustion, I took a long hard look at my priorities and interests and decided to follow my dream instead: to become a sustainable fashion designer. From a global PR and marketing manager at an environmental NGO in London, I packed my life into 10 extra-large boxes and moved back to my native Dublin, and back in with my mum, to pursue a foundation course in fashion design at a community college a 10-minute cycle from my family home. Between setting up a little Instagram brand selling hair accessories made of waste textiles, getting a part-time job and studying, I’m still busy – but much, much happier." 
 
Industry: Sustainable fashion design student
Age: 28
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Salary: Full-time student and temporary seasonal retail worker, so no fixed salary. 
Paycheque amount: €924 (£788) per month. Currently working as a Christmas temp at a quirky design shop until late December. This is a temporary contract. I also did a craft market this month and made around €120 (£102) after costs. 
Number of housemates: One, my mum.
Monthly Expenses 
Housing costs: €0 
Loan payments: €0
Utilities: €0 
Transportation: €60 (£51) per month. I mostly cycle for short journeys but take the bus or train to work in Dublin city centre three times a week. 
Phone bill: £10 – still using my English EE contract as it’s cheaper to roam than switch to an Irish network. One of these days they’ll realise I’m not on holiday… 
Savings? Trying not to dip into these but definitely not adding to them. 
Other: Netflix £5.99, Amazon Prime £7.99. 
If you are interested in submitting your own money diary, please drop us a line at moneydiary@refinery29.uk

More from Work & Money

R29 Original Series