Money Diary: A 26-Year-Old In Political Comms In Belfast On 27k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week: "I’m 26 and finally trying to get a grip of my finances after roughly seven years of getting into stupid, unnecessary debt. I have finally paid it all off and I'm starting to build some savings. I have roughly £2,500 and am trying to save as much as I can this year, especially the next few months of lockdown. I’m very impulsive and very extravagant so I'm trying to get a handle on that, too. We’ll see how it goes!"    
Industry: Political communications    
Age: 26    
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland    
Salary: £27,000    
Paycheque amount: Approx £1,800    
Number of housemates: One (my mother!)     
Monthly Expenses
Housing costs: £250 (limited as I live at home – my lovely mum doesn’t take much as 'rent' to help me save up).
Loan payments: Roughly £40 on a store card.    
Utilities: Roughly £50.    
Transportation: Limited now working from home. I don’t drive (trying to learn but COVID keeps cancelling).    
Phone bill: £36    
Savings? £500 into a savings account, which is a car/house fund. Recently set up a 'vault' on Revolut which I will start to pay £100 a month into for an emergency fund. Don’t want to have to use my savings every time I'm a bit broke.    
Other: I usually put £150 worth of stuff on my credit card and pay it off monthly to try and improve my credit score.    
If you are interested in completing your own (paid) money diary, please email with a bit of information about yourself. Unfortunately we aren't able to reply to every email.

More from Work & Money

R29 Original Series