A Week In White Plains, NY, On A $50,000 Salary

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last dollar.
Today for Money Diaries Month: a marketing and events associate who makes $50,000 per year. This week, she spends some of her money on stocks and Pedialyte.
Occupation: Marketing & Events Associate
Industry: Magazine
Age: 24
Location: I work in Manhattan and live in White Plains, NY
Salary: $50,000
Paycheck (2x/month): $1,401
Monthly Expenses
Housing: $1,000 in rent for my share. I split the full $2,000 rent evenly with my boyfriend, whom I live with.
Loan Payments: $174.16 for student loans
All Other Monthly Expenses:
Cell Phone: $0. My dad pays for the family plan.
Utilities (Gas & Electric): $120 on average (ranging from $100 - $150). I pay the utilities bill and my boyfriend pays the cable bill. If one is more than the other, we Venmo the difference.
Netflix: $0. My boyfriend had account before we moved in together, so we use his.
Cable & Internet: $0. (My boyfriend pays this, since I pay for the utilities.)
Gym Membership: $40. I belong to New York Sports Club and go a few times a week, but I'm always trying to find free classes in the city.
Train Pass: $268, comes out of my paycheck
Savings: $100 automatically transfers from my checking to my Roth IRA every month.
Stock Market: I keep money in a Charles Schwab account specifically for trading stocks. I don't deposit money into this account monthly. I usually just deposit a large amount every time I see it getting low — about $2,000 every few months.

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Documentary
Five love stories behind diverse, multicultural marriages.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Life experiments, 5 days at a time.
Watch Now
Fashion
The style of subculture.
Watch Now
Beauty
Viral trends, tried and tested.
Watch Now
Documentary
From vibrators to lipstick, learn how your favorite products are made.
Watch Now
Documentary
Extraordinary, one-of-a-kind individuals
Watch Now
Documentary
The latest stories to watch.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Inside the homes of millennial women — & what they paid for them
Watch Now
Comedy
Let's talk about sex, baby.
Watch Now
Documentary
Female artisans around the world
Watch Now
Politics
Made by and for smart, opinionated women.
Watch Now
Film
We helped 12 female directors claim their power.