Aretha Franklin Covers Adele; All Is Right In The World

R-E-S-P-E-C-T: That's what Aretha Franklin's paying to fellow great female singers on her new album. Titled Aretha Franklin Sings the Great Diva Classics, the new release is basically girl power in musical form. Here's the track list:
1. “At Last” (Etta James cover)
2. “Rolling In The Deep” (Adele cover)
3. “Midnight Train to Georgia (Gladys Knight And The Pips cover)
4. “I Will Survive” (Gloria Gaynor cover)
5. “People” (Barbra Streisand cover)
6. “No One” (Alicia Keys cover)
7. “I’m Every Woman” (Chaka Khan Cover) / “Respect”
8. “Teach Me Tonight” (Dinah Washington cover)
9. “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” (The Supremes cover)
10. “Nothing Compares 2 U” (Sinéad O’Connor cover)
For the first single, Franklin takes on Adele's "Rolling in the Deep." Aretha doesn't just sing the original song. The arrangement brings in soaring lines from "Ain't No Mountain High Enough." She also holds out on a different spot each time she reaches the chorus, allowing her to hit "all," "deep," and "hand" in that strong, signature wail.
Moral of the story: This diva's still got it. The full album comes out October 21, and the first single is already available on iTunes. Go ahead and have it all, rolling in the deep. (Huffington Post)

More from Music