A Week In Brooklyn On A $91k Salary

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We asked a millennial woman how she spends her hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last cent. (Thanks, New York Mag, for the inspiration.)

Today, a woman in Brooklyn buying birthday cards and sushi.

Industry: Marketing
Location: Brooklyn
Salary: $91,000
Age: 32
Roommates: 0

Monthly Expenses:
Rent: $1,100
Utilities/Phone: $378.40
Home Cleaning: $100

Day One

8 a.m. — Read an article last night on tips for a healthier morning. So, I get up and heat up some water and put lemon juice in it to spike my metabolism.

8:45 a.m. — Refill my Metrocard with my Benny card, which I contribute pre-tax dollars to through work. Technically not free, but feels like it!

9:12 a.m. — Get to work. Fill a bowl of Early Bird granola (which I left here last week) and add some free milk from the office.

12 p.m. — Coworkers convince me to go to a sushi spot for lunch. Buy a $12 roll and then see a Teas' Tea. Didn't think twice about how much it would be. Brings my total to over $15. Way too pricey for lunchtime. $15.79

1:30 p.m. — Transfer $171.37 left over from last week to my savings account, plus an extra $27 for my weekly 52-week savings project. I'm halfway through the "challenge," which I found on Pinterest. By the end of a year, I will have saved $1,378. $198.37

3:20 p.m. — Need a mental break. Go to Paper Source and buy my mom a birthday card. Why are cards so expensive these days? $4.90

4 p.m. — Craving a snack. And need stamps. Go to CVS for both. $11

7 p.m. — Decide to take a Physique 57 class with a friend. They're expensive AF, but worth it. $31.98

8:30 p.m. — We treat ourselves to sushi at Tomo. Somehow ends up being pricey and we didn't even drink alcohol. It comes to $45, but I used my boyfriend's AmEx, since they didn't take Mastercard. He said not to worry about it.

Total: $262.04

Day 2

7:30 a.m. — Make myself hot tea while getting ready.

9 a.m. — Attend a morning work event and get free breakfast. So fun to network in the a.m. with smart individuals.

1 p.m. — Lunch meeting. I have a reuben sandwich and a beer. We work on a deal and the person I meet with pays. Very kind of him.

7 p.m. — I go over to my best friend's house for dinner in Williamsburg. She picked up wine and ordered in pasta and pizza (so healthy, I know, but it's "Treat Yourself Tuesday"). She wouldn't let me give her any money for dinner.

9 p.m. — Take an Uber home to my boyfriend's place. $8

10:30 p.m. — Check my bank account. I got charged my monthly Drybar membership fee. Ugh. Canceling it next month. $78.38

Total: $86.38

Day 3

8:30 a.m. — Pull out money to pay my cleaning lady. My family visiting early next week, so I want to make sure everything is clean and perfect. $80 for cleaning lady, $10 to put into my laundry card. $90

9:40 a.m. — Rushing to do errands before work. Grabbed coffee on the go at Birch. $4.25

10 a.m. — Granola with milk and tea at the office.

2 p.m. — I get Mexican food for lunch. Guac is extra, as usual. $1.50 extra, in this case. $9.50

4 p.m. — Coffee break with some coworkers. This is a splurge and I know I should stop. As my friend calls it, it's a "pretentious latte." $4.63

6 p.m. — Go to a work event that has some light snacks.

8 p.m. — My neighbor invites me over for dinner. Nothing crazy — Rice-A-Roni and veggies left over from her dinner the night before.

Total: $108.38

Day 4

7 a.m. — I go work out, but forget my water bottle, so I had to buy water. Such a waste of money. $2

8:30 a.m. — I pick up some Fage yogurt, coffee, and other groceries for the rest of the week. $32

10 a.m. — My mom tells me about a fraud charge she caught on her card. I've been putting it off, but I finally sign up for Lifelock. Better safe than sorry. $10.88/month

12:30 p.m. — Sweetgreen for lunch. $11

4 p.m. — Snack time! Duane Reade again. $2.38

6:30 p.m. — My nails are chipping, so I get a quick mani. And I can't go to the salon without a 15-minute massage. #splurge $32

8:30 p.m. — Nothing in the fridge. I order schnitzel from 12 Chairs. $21.91

Total: $112.17

Day 5

9 a.m. — Granola and tea for breakfast (from groceries I bought yesterday).

1 p.m. — I walk over to a new lunch spot and get some noodles. $10.29

7 p.m. — I decide to stay in and be lazy. Make myself a bowl of pasta with a ton of butter and watch TV. Weekend, for the win!

Total: $10.29

Day 6

10 a.m. — The BF is working, so I have the day to myself. I go get my hair done early, since it's tough getting a later appointment. I have a membership at Drybar (which I paid earlier this week), so I only pay tip. $8

11:15 p.m. — I have brunch plans, but I walk by a delicious looking bakery and get a croissant. $1.70

12:30 p.m. — Brunch with friends at Good in the West Village. $24.60

2 p.m. — We head to the Whitney Museum. I'm a member, so I don't pay an entrance fee. I end up buying a book for my boyfriend at the members' rate. $24.45

4:30 p.m. — I pick up some stuff from the tailor. Hate these kinds of bills, but it's stuff that needed to get fixed. $58

5 p.m. — I walk around the West Village. I'm going on a trip in a few weeks and splurge on a cute romper at the Everything but Water pop-up. Closed my eyes and handed over my credit card. I'll deal with the guilt later. $156.78

6:30 p.m. — I stop in to Vin sur Vingt, a wine bar, to get a glass of wine and read a book. $20.42

7:30 p.m. — It's my friend's birthday, so I buy a card from the sale section of a cute shop near my apartment. $2.18

8 p.m. — Feeling lazy and take an Uber to my boyfriend's house. $7.61

8:30 p.m. — I order dinner on Seamless from two different places. I'm craving pasta and the BF wants something healthy. I don't even care how bad I'm being...it's the weekend. I pay for our dinners, since he doesn't have a Seamless account, and we eat and watch Concussion, the Will Smith movie. $44.45

Total: $348.19 (Yikes! Expensive Saturday!)

Day 7

9:30 a.m. — Wake up with the BF and he makes me breakfast. Fried egg sandwich. We eat in bed and watch the rest of Concussion, which we started last night.

12:30 p.m. — We motivate and venture out in the cold to a place in the Gowanus for lunch called Little Neck. He pays.

3:30 p.m. — We go take a fun class at Gotham Archery. The lady at the front desk awkwardly asks who is paying. I point to the BF (we've been together four years and this isn't awkward, but had it been a first date, I would've been beet red).

5:30 p.m. — We decide to grab drinks and play some games at Royal Palms Shuffleboard Club. I treat us. $56

8 p.m. — We go to dinner and then drinks at a cute spot called Franny's. He treats again.

Total: $56

The first step to getting your financial life in order is tracking what you spend — to try on your own, check out our guide to managing your money every day.

Have a money diary you'd like to share? Send it to us at https://you.refinery29.com/submit-money-diary.

More from Work & Money