No Female Artists Are Nominated For This Top Brit Award

Photo: Getty Images
The nominations for the 2020 Brit Awards were announced on Saturday evening, and they're a disappointingly male-heavy affair.
No female artists are nominated for the prestigious British Album of the Year award, which hasn't been won by a woman since 2016, when Adele triumphed with 25.
This year, albums by Stormzy, Harry Styles, Dave, Lewis Capaldi and Michael Kiwanuka are in contention for the award.
The Song of the Year category is also dominated by male artists including Ed Sheeran, Calvin Harris, Stormzy, Dave and Capaldi. The only British female artist recognised is Mabel, whose dancehall bop "Don't Call Me Up" deservedly makes the shortlist.
Two other female artists are nominated for collaborations: Miley Cyrus for her Mark Ronson team-up "Nothing Breaks Like a Heart", and Normani for her duet with non-binary artist Sam Smith, "Dancing with a Stranger".
The British Group shortlist is also an all-male affair which somehow finds no space for Little Mix. The chart-topping girl-group have been nominated twice in the past for this award, but never won it, and "Mixers" on Twitter are starting to ask questions.
On a more positive note, the British Female Solo Artist category is packed with talent. Charli XCX, FKA Twigs, Freya Ridings, Mabel and Mahalia are all nominated for this award, which has been won in the past by the likes of Dua Lipa, Adele and Ellie Goulding.
While it's obviously fantastic to see these artists recognised, it's hard not to wonder why some of them didn't also crack the British Album of the Year shortlist.
London rapper Little Simz could and should have been nominated too for her highly acclaimed album Grey Area – as singer-songwriter Joy Crookes pointed out on Twitter.
The International Female Solo Artist is also incredibly competitive, with Lizzo, Billie Eilish, Ariana Grande, Camila Cabello and Lana Del Rey making up the shortlist. This category is so strong, in fact, that there's no space for previous winner Taylor Swift.
Overall, Dave and Lewis Capaldi lead the pack with four nominations apiece, followed by Stormzy and Mabel with three each.
The winners will be announced in a ceremony at London's The O2 on 18th February. Check out the full list of nominations below.
Mastercard Album of the Year
Dave - Psychodrama
Harry Styles - Fine Line
Lewis Capaldi - Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent
Michael Kiwanuka - Kiwanuka
Stormzy - Heavy is the Head
Song of the Year
AJ Tracey - “Ladbroke Grove”
Calvin Harris & Rag’N’Bone Man - “Giant”
Dave - “Location” (ft. Burna Boy)
Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber - “I Don’t Care”
Lewis Capaldi - “Someone You Loved”
Mabel - “Don’t Call Me Up”
Mark Ronson - “Nothing Breaks Like a Heart” (ft. Miley Cyrus)
Sam Smith & Normani - “Dancing With a Stranger”
Stormzy - “Vossi Bop”
Tom Walker - “Just You and I”
Best New Artist
Lewis Capaldi
Sam Fender
Male Solo Artist
Harry Styles
Lewis Capaldi
Michael Kiwanuka
Female Solo Artist
Charli XCX
FKA Twigs
Freya Ridings
Best Group
Bring Me The Horizon
D-Block Europe
International Female
Ariana Grande
Billie Eilish
Camila Cabello
Lana Del Rey
International Male
Bruce Springsteen
Burna Boy
Dermot Kennedy
Post Malone
Tyler, the Creator
Rising Star

More from Music

R29 Original Series