Money Diary: A Full-Time Mum With A Partner On 90k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with a full-time mum to two kids who are just about to turn three (A) and one (B). She used to be an Ad Sales Director in a global media company and went back to work full-time between having her first and second child. She has just resigned.
She says: “Given that my husband and I had the same salary this is a huge drop in our household income. We have also just renovated our home using our mortgage and combined savings and are hoping to sell out and undergo a hard ‘Lexit’ (departure from London to remote rural area) in the next 6-12 months. Living in an up-and-coming corner of south London, my immediate retail radius is, frankly, limited. With two frenetic offspring permanently in tow, in-store shopping opportunities must meet the following thrilling criteria: a) ACCESS: aisles large enough to accommodate the double buggy, b) AMBIENCE: enough background noise to mask my children’s screaming. As a result, 90% of my non-supermarket based purchases are made online.”
Industry: Unemployed
Age: 35
Location: London
Salary: £0 (My husband earns £90,000)
Monthly paycheque: £5,000
Number of housemates: 3 (1 husband and 2 kids)
Monthly Expenses:
Mortgage: £1,750
Loan payments: None but still owe our builder around £5-10k
Utilities: £200
Council tax: £170
Home insurance: £20
Contents insurance: £50
Running a car (insurance/tax/petrol): £200
Transportation: £70
Savings: £0 (it all went into the house renovation)
Entertainment: Netflix/Amazon/Wi-Fi: £36
Son’s nursery: (3 mornings a week) £498
Contact lenses: £45
Mobile phone: £38
Cleaner: £100 (comes every 2 weeks for 5 hours)
Charity donations: £45
Beauty Pie subscription: £10
Total: £3,332
Love reading Money Diaries? Love commenting on Money Diaries? Want to hear MORE from the diarists themselves? Join our Money Diary Facebook Group, where our OPs will share an exclusive reflection on their week and their spending.

More from Food & Drinks

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that colour what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most vibrant cultural and culinary centres—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.