DJ Earworm's "United States Of Pop 2013" Has Arrived, Bring On The Strobes

Well, it's officially that time of the year. No, not the holidays. Haven't we've been inundated with that since the summer? It's time for DJ Earworm's annual mashup of the year's biggest and best pop jams. Hopefully, you've got your glittery duds, Day-Glo, and dancing shoes on because 2013 was a monstrous mix of EDM and songs with "feelings."
For the seventh year in a row, Earworm tracked and analyzed the singles that dominated the charts and got stuck in our heads for days. Miley Cyrus obviously made the cut (twice!), but the driving force of the five-minute mix is the EDM power trio Swedish House Mafia. "Don't You Worry Child" along with Avicii's "Wake Me Up" helped solidify house music's presence in the popular zeitgeist. Some songs, like Lorde's "Royals" or P!nk's "Just Give Me A Reason," might not feature any "dance" elements, but their structure made assimilating them to dance beats easy — almost too easy. Earworm's work is fabulous insta-nostalgia, but it also highlights the formulaic sound of the Top 40 hits we consume. Regardless, you already know we'll be dancing our way towards 2014 with some help from this ultimate jam.
Opening Photo: Courtesy of RCA Records.

More from Music


R29 Original Series