A Week In NYC On A $291,000 Joint Salary

Photo: Courtesy of Anthropologie.
Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last dollar. (Thanks, New York mag, for the inspiration.)

Today, a woman in software whose husband makes her breakfast every. Single. Day.

Industry: Software
Age: 31
Location: Brooklyn
Salary: Base salary of $91K + sales commission. Husband's salary is $110K and $200K OTE. He's also in software sales.
Paycheck amount (2x a month): Take-home is about $2800; my commission payout varies so this is an average
# of roommates: 1 husband, 1 cat; husband and I split all our costs and have joint finances, so everything here is what I spent personally or my piece of a shared expense.

Monthly Expenses
Rent:
$1,275 for a two-bedroom apartment
Loan Payments: none!
Utilities: $60
Transportation: $116.50 monthly metrocard, deducted from my paycheck pre-tax
Phone Bill: $60
Health Insurance: $0; my husband’s company subsidizes 100% of our insurance costs
Savings: About $1200 per month is auto-deposited into my 401(k) (will be maxed out by the end of the year), about $500/mo goes into our joint savings account
Spotify: $10
Crunch membership: $90
Advertisement
1 of 9
Day 1

7:30 a.m. — Daily breakfast smoothie of spinach, kiwi, apple, cucumber, zucchini, kefir, frozen mango, water and some green superfood powder. I prepare this the night before and then blend it in my Ninja in the morning for the two of us, which I’m sure our neighbors really appreciate. I’m one of those people who have to eat a feast immediately upon waking up. I’m also training for the NYC marathon so I spend most of the day eating or thinking about the next thing I’m going to eat.

9 a.m. — Two scrambled eggs at my desk at work that my husband makes for me. I don’t know how I managed to get him to do this every day but it rules. I also stop at Gregory’s for a half-caff iced coffee since I'm dragging today. $4

10:30 a.m. — Snack on a plum from the office fruit stash. I work at a software startup so the snacks are usually on point and I usually have a pile on my desk because I’m a food hoarder.

12:30 p.m. — Brought last night’s leftovers for lunch, sort of like a burrito bowl with ground turkey and veggies. I bring lunch most days of the week, but sometimes I get lazy during training.

1:45 p.m. — Snack of mini Chips Ahoy cookies from the office.

3:45 p.m. — Banana and cheese-stick break snacks.

5:30 p.m. — Stop at Duane Reade to pick up some essentials. $14

6 p.m. — Get home from work starving but not ready to cook so I have some watermelon that we already had in the fridge. No running today!

7 p.m. — Fresh Direct haul arrives. I usually order once a week since we cook a lot and the daily smoothies require lots of fresh stuff. We get eggs, spinach, kale, zucchini, carrots, broccoli, beans, tortillas, bread, chicken, seltzer, paper towels, and some Chloe’s fruit popsicles that are amazing and were on sale. Pretty much everything is organic so it’s a little pricey, but the grocery stores in our area smell like my cat’s litter box. With tip for delivery guys, $110.

9 p.m. — Make pizza for dinner: Dough from a prior FD order, sausage, ricotta, grape tomatoes, green pepper, and a bunch of mozzarella. I like cheese to lie on my pizza like a down comforter.

Daily Total: $128
2 of 9
Day 2

7 a.m. — Up early for my long training run. Nothing makes you question who you are and what you’re doing with your life like running 15 miles in the blazing sun. I have to eat lightly before running so I have a banana with a piece of toast and peanut butter. During the run I eat Clif Bloks for energy, which are basically square gummy bears and amazing.

11:30 a.m. — Totally zapped after the run. Husband makes me a fried-egg sandwich and coffee at home.

12 p.m. — Husband stops at the bodega to pick up some beers. $10

3 p.m. — Quick snack of a frozen burrito with half an avocado. Frozen burritos are my guilty pleasure so I always keep them in stock.

3:45 p.m. — Sign up for a half marathon at the end of the month as part of my training. This is not a typical weekly expense but I was expecting it. $50

4:15 p.m. — Go to get my haircut (via Uber, no chance of walking after that run) and what they call a mini-foil of highlights. This is not a normal expense either, especially since I realize I haven’t had my hair done in four months. Also pick up some conditioner. $295 (including tip + $12 Uber)

6 p.m. — Treat myself to a post-haircut bagel and a bottle of water. $5

6:15 p.m. — Have a few beers at Mission Dolores and husband meets me after his fantasy-football draft. $22

7:30 p.m. — Have a few beers at Other Half brewery. We like beers. $30

9:30 p.m. — One more beer at Mini Bar while waiting for our table at Frankie’s. $10

10 p.m. — Dinner at Frankie’s. SO good. Wine, two salads, pasta, meatballs, and all the bread. $55

Daily Total: $477
Advertisement
3 of 9
Day 3

10 a.m. — Green smoothie, poached eggs, toast, and coffee at home.

2 p.m. — Boozy brunch with husband and my sister and her boyfriend at El Atoradero. $35

4 p.m. — Beers at Covenhoven with the group plus some additional friends. Surrender to Sunday Funday. $50

8 p.m. — Two more unnecessary beers at Franklin Park. Skip dinner and go to bed as soon as we walk in. Tomorrow will be rough. $20

Daily Total: $105
4 of 9
Day 4

7:30 a.m. — Yes, today is rough. Chugging water and my usual green smoothie.

9:15 a.m. — Thankful that my office does bagel Mondays.

11 a.m. — Try some chia-pudding samples in the office kitchen.

12:30 p.m. — Lunch is leftovers at my desk.

1:30 p.m. — Walk to Anthropologie to look for a dress that will allow me to wear flats instead of heels for a wedding this weekend. Plus I have a 20% off coupon that I just have to use. Damn you, Anthro. $198

4 p.m. — Finally get around to eating my usual scrambled eggs.

6:30 p.m. — 7-mile run and a few gummies.

8 p.m. — Chicken, broccoli, and brown rice courtesy of husband. Followed up by a popsicle.

Daily Total: $198
5 of 9
Day 5

7:30 a.m. — Usual green smoothie.

9 a.m. — Pop into Gregory’s for a half-caff iced coffee. $4

9:30 a.m. — Eggggggs.

12 p.m. — Mexicali Vegan salad with chicken at Chop't plus some sea-salt caramels for husband. I was so happy this new Chop't opened by my office because the lunch options around here are sad and their Mexican Goddess dressing is like crack. That might also be one of the saddest sentences I’ve typed. $14

1:45 p.m. — I leave work for a doctor’s appointment and then work from home for the rest of the day. Snack on some corn nuts from Trader Joe’s.

6 p.m. — Dinner at Charlie Bird with one of my friends. This is probably a little more upscale than we’d normally do, but husband and I are moving out of the city in a few weeks so I’m trying to hit as many spots on my list as possible. This place is so worth the splurge. $113

8:30 p.m. — Definitely take the subway home!

Daily Total: $131
6 of 9
Day 6

7 a.m. — Green smoothie.

7:30 a.m. — Pick up the laundry that husband dropped off yesterday. We have no washer-dryer in the building, so our local wash-and-fold service is a lifesaver. I also go to the laundromat every other week to wash the stuff I don’t want dried with the molten-lava dryer the other place uses. $22

9 a.m. — Another iced coffee from Gregory’s. That kind of week. $4

9:30 a.m. — Desk eggs.

11:30 a.m. — My stomach growls during a meeting so I grabbed a cheese stick from the office kitchen.

1 p.m. — Brought a salad and cottage cheese from home for lunch. Wishing it was pizza.

3:30 p.m. — Mini Chips Ahoy-cookie break.

5:45 p.m. — Quick manicure at my favorite local spot. $18

6:30 p.m. — Chicken sandwich at home before a marathon night of crafting; I’m working on a project for my friend’s kid’s teacher and I need to get it in the mail tomorrow so it arrives in time!

Daily Total: $44
7 of 9
Day 7

7:30 a.m. — Green smoothie.

9:30 a.m. — Husband is traveling so I stop at Starbucks for an egg sandwich and an iced coffee. Paid for with a gift card I got for my birthday so no damage done.

12:30 p.m. — Mail my project to my friend. She’s covering the shipping so this doesn't cost me anything!

1:30 p.m. — Another salad from Chop't. My last trip earned me a $10 credit through LevelUp so lunch is cheap today! Pick up some caramels for husband as well. $4

4:30 p.m. — Leave work a little early so I can get home to finish packing for a wedding tomorrow. We’re set to fly out at 8 p.m.

5:30 p.m. — Quick egg sandwich so I don’t eat at the airport!

6 p.m. — Uber to LGA. $20

7 p.m. — Hanging in the Delta Sky Club, which I love beyond reason. Our flight is delayed for two hours so we hang out and eat random snacks. Normally I would be drinking free booze but I have to run in the morning before the wedding.

12:30 p.m. — Finally land and take a taxi to our hotel. Husband’s parents paid for the hotel, which is lucky for us! $20

Daily Total: $44
8 of 9
Money Diaries are meant to reflect individual diarists' experiences and do not necessarily reflect Refinery29’s point of view. Refinery29 in no way encourages illegal activity or harmful behavior.

The first step to getting your financial life in order is tracking what you spend — to try on your own, check out our guide to managing your money every day.

For more money diaries, click here.

Have a money diary you'd like to share? Send it to us at https://you.refinery29.com/submit-money-diary.
9 of 9
Advertisement