An Intern's Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $300 Paycheck

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last dollar.
This week, we’re taking a look at the way interns are spending across the country. Internships can be a key way of getting experience, gaining entry into fields, and making connections, but not everyone has the ability — in terms of timing or finances — to make it happen. For those who do, managing an internship during the traditional work and school year, or working full-or-part-time over the summer can provide an exciting (or nerve-wracking!) preview of life after college.
Advertisement
Today: a tech intern who makes $600-$1,000 a month and spends some of it on laundry and birth control.
Occupation: Part-Time Intern
Industry: Tech Startup
Age: 21
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Paycheck (2x/month): $300 - $500
Monthly Expenses
Housing: $535 to share a three-bedroom apartment off-campus with three roommates. I have the bigger single of the three rooms.
Loan Payments: $0. I'm on a full-tuition merit scholarship.
All Other Monthly Expenses:
Utilities: $25 - $30 for internet, electric, and gas (after an even split with my roommates).
Cell Phone: $0. I'm on my family's plan, and my parents pay.
Car Insurance: $0. My parents encouraged me to bring a family car to school this year to make visiting home easier, and they pay for the insurance.
Health insurance: $0. I'm on my family's plan through my mom's job.
1 of 8
9 a.m. — I snooze for too long. I only have time to fill a Ziploc bag with cereal and take it with me. Usually, I would just skip breakfast, but I've got a full day of classes and a test.

6 p.m. — I'm exhausted when I get home, but I already have pork chops marinating. Plus, I'm starving from skipping lunch to do some last-minute cramming for my test. (It was easier than expected though!) I sauté the pork chops with tomatoes and bok choy and make rice on the side. Since I'm always terrible at estimating portions, I make too much and put the rest in the fridge for later.

10 p.m. — I pay rent (emoji cringe face) before I go to sleep.

Daily Total: $0
Advertisement
2 of 8
8 a.m. — I eat cereal and a grapefruit before my final-round interviews for a rotational program today. It's pouring outside, so I drive instead of taking the bus. Parking downtown sucks and garages are expensive. $22

12:30 p.m. — The last interview is over lunch. I order a shrimp po'boy with fries and bisque ($15). The company pays.

2 p.m. — My $25 birthday discount from Madewell expires today, and I think the interviews went pretty well, so I head to the mall. There's a sale going on, and I buy two shirts and a pair of socks. The full cost is $120, and it comes down to $60! I also stop at Sephora to pick up my birthday freebie and snag a few samples. I have a credit card linked to a shared account with my parents, but I try to be conscientious about keeping my expenses and spending below what I make. I stay on top of paying it off each month. Credit cards scare me, but my parents are insistent about me building credit. I treat this as a late birthday gift to myself. $59.34

4 p.m. — I see a matinee showing of Beauty and the Beast with some friends. Because it's still pouring, I drive, and they pay for parking ($5). Emma Watson is the best! $6.50

6:30 p.m. — I meet up with a friend for banh mi and bubble tea. We met on a dating app in the fall, but I started dating (and then broke up with) someone else and told this person I just want to be friends. He always insists on paying for food because he's a “real grown-up” with a “real job,” but that still feels a bit date-like to me. Then again, I typically pay for myself on dates (doing so makes me feel less awkward). I reach for the check but he's faster this time. It's $25 for both of us.

8 p.m. — We meet up with his friends for drinks and tacos at a cool new place downtown. I'm already full and just get a beer. $6

11 p.m. — One guy calls an Uber, and we all take it back to my friend's place. We hang out in the building's hot tub and drink champagne. I only drink half a glass; I'm a lightweight and also want to drive home instead of paying for an Uber. I don't get home until after 2 a.m. It's the most exciting Friday I've had in a while. I'm usually pretty boring!

Daily Total: $93.84
3 of 8
12 p.m. — This is the latest I've woken up since my birthday. I heat up most of Thursday's leftovers (I still can't finish the pork) and do some homework.

3:30 p.m. — I snack on an apple as I drive to soccer. I usually walk because gas in the city is expensive, but it's cold today. I play in a recreational tech league with people from work. As usual, it's all guys, except for me. #DiversityInTech.

6 p.m. — Our university hosts free arts programming, and my roommates and I try to go to one event a week. (A bonus is that the events always have free food — possibly the best part of being a student.) There's a chartered bus downtown, and where we eat an awesome catered Italian meal before the musical.

Daily Total: $0
4 of 8
9 a.m. — I wake up and make rice congee with the last part of Thursday's pork and duck egg. I figured how to do this on the stove a couple of weeks ago. I realize I'm getting low on groceries. I usually buy them twice a month, and also make a smaller trip to the Asian grocery store once a month.

1 p.m. — I eat three mangos because they're getting overripe and I'm too lazy to make a real lunch.

6 p.m. — All I've done today is sit in my room and study/apply for jobs, so I procrastinate by making dinner: a potato, carrot, zucchini hash with dressed tofu on the side.

Daily Total: $0
5 of 8
7 a.m. — I have to wake up early to work from home on Mondays, but I don't eat yet because I'm tired of cereal. The office where I intern has a stocked kitchen, and it's nice out, so I walk to work to see if I can make the 9 a.m. meeting. It turns out it's cancelled, but I have some granola and a giant bowl of strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries anyway.

11 a.m. — I get a call-back from my interview on Friday ... and they give me a JOB OFFER! I'm super pumped. It isn't my ideal company/job but at least my parents will stop mentioning the MCAT now. I stopped being pre-med two years ago and they're still not over it. I grab a cheese stick, chocolate, and a handful of peanut butter pretzels before heading to class.

3 p.m. — I reward myself for the job by getting a bubble tea before tutoring. $3.69

7 p.m. — I've got frozen dumplings, so I make soup with some of those and add spinach, tomatoes, and mushrooms.

8 p.m. — I clean my room and run a load of laundry. I hate paying to do laundry here and usually try to wait until I visit home on a weekend, but I'm running out of underwear. I also move some frozen chicken to the fridge for dinner tomorrow. $2.50

Daily Total: $6.19
6 of 8
9 a.m. — Cereal and a kiwi before classes.

4 p.m. — I pick up my monthly birth control. My parents asked me to stop taking it in November (they're pretty conservative), but I've really been breaking out. I disregard them and restart. $52.38

4:30 p.m. — Grocery run: I buy tomatoes, peppers, spinach, kale, grapefruits, a pear, strawberries, potatoes, eggs, milk, and ground beef. I also pick up sponges for the apartment; the four of us equally split all household/cleaning purchases. $37.04

7 p.m. — For dinner, I make mashed potatoes with chicken thighs, sautéed kale, and tomatoes.

Daily Total: $89.42
7 of 8
9 a.m. — I snooze too many times and get up late for work, so I take the bus instead of walking. I eat strawberries, granola and a clementine at work for breakfast.

11 a.m. — I'm feeling tired and decide to buy a mocha at the coffee shop downstairs; I've recently started drinking coffee regularly, and it's a terrible habit. $4.50

12:30 p.m. — Lunch before I leave for classes is a prepared salad with kale, cauliflower, grains. I added chicken and tomatoes to it as well.

3 p.m. — I'm a volunteer tutor for a local refugee family as part of a student organization. The club is selling shirts as part of our fundraising efforts, and I buy one before I leave for tutoring. $15

2 p.m. — I filled out a survey for our landlord last week, and he just sent me a $5 Starbucks gift card for it!

7 p.m. — For dinner, I make fried rice with eggs, carrots, frozen peas, and frozen corn. I start looking at flights for a family trip this summer, but the cheat site I'm using advises that I hold off on buying for now until there's a better price.

Daily Total: $19.50
8 of 8
Money Diaries are meant to reflect individual women's experiences and do not necessarily reflect Refinery29's point of view. Refinery29 in no way encourages illegal activity or harmful behavior.

The first step to getting your financial life in order is tracking what you spend — to try on your own, check out our guide to managing your money every day. For more money diaries, click here.

Have a money diary you'd like to share? Submit it to us here.
Advertisement