A Week In New York On A $70,000 Salary

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last dollar. (Thanks, New York mag, for the inspiration.)

This week, an attorney drinking green juice every day, restocking her weed supply, and sharing a daily iced coffee with her husband.
Industry: Law
Age: 30
Location: Astoria, Queens
Salary: $70,000. My husband is also an attorney, but makes about 20k more than I do annually. He also pays A LOT more in law-school loans than I. We do not share finances — modern-day woman and all.
Paycheck amount (every 2 weeks): $1,800 after tax & health insurance for myself & my husband ($150 bimonthly)
Number of roommates: 1 husband & 2 cats

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1,500 split evenly; I pay $750
Utilities: $150, but husband pays
Internet: $70, but husband pays
Gym membership: $65
Netflix: $7.99; husband pays
Hulu Plus: $7.99; husband pays
Phone bill: $100; still on my parents’ family plan, sue me
School loans: $600
Birchbox: $10
MTA: $120
Taxis/Ubers: $60
Green juice delivery subscription with Chef V NYC: $125
iCloud storage/commercial-free Pandora: $10
Automated Capital One credit card payments: $100
Advertisement
1 of 8
Day One

8:30 a.m. — I like to start my day with a Perrier with lemon, or still lemon water. I drink a butt ton of water. $2

8:45 a.m. — My husband and I walk to the subway. We debate getting Starbucks. We usually share an iced coffee for the ride into the city. He buys it ($3.54). I have a sip, but he takes the rest with him.

10 a.m. — I drink the free coffee at the office. It's meh, but it’s free. I try to not exceed two cups per day. They are small cups. I also switch it up to the free tea.

12:30 p.m. — I’m never hungry in the morning, At around noon, I have a big glass or two of this green juice that I get delivered to my door once a week (counted in my monthly expenses). It's yummy and nutritious and fills me up for about 20 minutes.

12:50 p.m. — I like to eat fruit in the first half of the day so that it's easier on my body to digest. Today I have an organic Fuji apple. $2

12:55 p.m. — I’m obsessed with seaweed. I buy 24-pack boxes on Amazon every few weeks. I eat a packet to try to satiate myself. $1.50

1:30 p.m. — I literally cannot wait a second longer, so I run down to the nearest deli and get myself a gigantic salad. I also eat a small piece of seven-grain bread (it's free). $10.60

5 p.m. — I have the worst sweet tooth, and if I’m working late, I’ll sometimes reward myself. I buy myself a hot chocolate thinking it’s healthier than a cookie or a cupcake (it’s not). $1.60

7 p.m. — I skip the gym (I know, I know, never skip a Monday. Eat me) so that I can get my bushy-ass eyebrows threaded before going food shopping. $6 + $4 tip for my homegirl = $10

7:15 p.m. — I go to the organic store and buy salmon, a quinoa/rice blend, veggies, and fruit for the week. I cook it up and chop up a salad. I pack up leftovers for both our Tuesday lunches. $26.30

10 p.m. — I’m out of weed, so I call my dealer and get a 1/8. I vape (#PAX2) before I fall asleep. $50

Daily Total: $104
2 of 8
Day Two

8:15 a.m. — I chug some water and take some homeopathic anxiety supplements.

8:30 a.m. — I mobile order a Venti iced coffee with soy for myself and my husband to share for the ride into the city. $3.54

12:45 p.m. — I drink two glasses of green juice and eat half a box of blueberries that I bought yesterday.

2 p.m. — I eat my baked salmon with quinoa-rice blend and salad leftovers from last night’s dinner.

4:15 p.m. — Hunger hits again, so I run downstairs and get myself a small veggie soup. $4.60

5 p.m. — I do some internet shopping on Amazon and buy soap. Exciting. $7

7 p.m. — I head to the gym and run 2.5 miles.

7:30 p.m. — My post-run hunger knows no bounds. I stop by the organic store buffet and grab a shitload of roasted Brussels sprouts and some expensive pistachio gelato because I’m worth it, dammit. Hubs and I share the gelato, even though I could have easily eaten the entire pint myself (and wanted to). $11.20

Daily Total: $26.34
3 of 8
Day Three

8:45 a.m. — I drink a Perrier with lemon. $2

9:45 a.m. — Starbucks reward, bitches! OBV I get the most expensive thing that I can concoct. A Venti five-shot soy latte. Yum. $0

1 p.m. — Two glasses of green juice, free office tea, the rest of that box of blueberries, and a banana.

1:45 p.m. — I go to Grand Central Market and purchase two Thai chipotle salmon summer rolls from Pescatore for $3.50 a pop. They are literally the only affordable thing in the entire place. $7

5 p.m. — I bust outta work early and head to the gym. On my way, I pick up an electrolyte water, hoping it will help me with my run. It doesn’t. Three and a half miles takes me way longer than I’d like to share. $2.75

6:15 p.m. — Once again I have uncontrollable post-run hunger, so I grab some roasted Brussels sprouts from the organic store to hold me over till dinner...and another overpriced gelato for later. $10.30

7:30 p.m. — I don’t know if I mentioned that I can literally live on falafel (and sometimes do). My husband and I go to our favorite Middle Eastern takeout spot, and we gorge on falafel platters and hummus and all things holy. The food is so damn delicious. Hubs buys it for $18.

Daily Total: $22.05
4 of 8
Day Four

8:30 a.m. — We are in a rush this morning, so I run out the door after just chugging some regular ol’ water (and my homeopathic anxiety supplements). We share a Venti iced coffee with soy that hubs buys.

12 p.m. — I do some Etsy shopping as I drink a hot lemon water and buy a necklace. $15

1 p.m. — I drink two glasses of green juice and eat a banana.

2 p.m. — I buy and eat a large salad with a small piece of seven-grain bread, because who in their right mind says no to free bread?! $10.60

3:30 p.m. — I go in for my chiro adjustment. Feels. So. Good. Co-pay is $25.

5:45 p.m. — I go shopping for a weekend outfit. I buy a super-cute off-the-shoulder dress. $30

6:45 p.m. — I get to the gym and trick myself into working out by bribing myself with a falafel wrap.

7:45 p.m. — I get said falafel wrap. Yas kween. I get one for hubs also. $14

Daily Total: $94.60
5 of 8
Day Five

8 a.m. — I chug some water and mobile order three shots of espresso on ice from Starbucks. $3.54

1 p.m. — I drink two glasses of green juice and eat a seaweed packet.

1:30 p.m. — I go shopping during lunch (it’s an addiction, I know) and buy a kimono (because, you know, I need four kimonos to just hang in my closet. Duh). $15

2 p.m. — I get a large tomato-basil soup with crackers for lunch. $5.75

6:30 p.m. — I go to the gym with a small bodega coffee in hand and think of ways I can get out of going out tonight as I push myself to propel forward on the elliptical. Coffee: $1

8 p.m. — I go out to a local bar with live music and pick on some apps and have a glass of wine. Hubs pays $46. I vape outside because I am a badass.

Daily Total: $25.29
Advertisement
6 of 8
Day Six

10 a.m. — Saturday is bae. I lie around all. morning. long.

12 p.m. — I drink a glass of green juice and go for a run.

1 p.m. — I buy a coffee with an everything bagel with veggie cream cheese. $4.80

3 p.m. — I go visit my grandma and bring her some flowers and dessert. $22.60

7 p.m. — I Seamless order myself a Greek salad with extra olives and a side of pita bread as I catch up on weekly television (#BachelorinParadise). $14.50

9:30 p.m. — After vaping, hubs and I go out for some froyo. He pays $9.55.

Daily Total: $41.90
7 of 8
Day Seven

10 a.m. — I lie around with hubs all morning. I drink my green juice, and then I blend us up some smoothies with frozen açai, bananas, frozen strawberries, and chia seeds.

11:45 a.m. — I get us both a Starbucks iced coffee before we both go do a light workout at the park, meditate, and read our books for a bit. $7.08

1:45 p.m. — There’s a new burger spot in town, so of course my husband NEEDS to go. We go. And...it’s a burger spot. Since I don’t eat meat, I get a veggie burger and a beer. He pays, $42.50.

7 p.m. — Sunday night is taco night. My bestie comes over and we order loads of tacos. I’m feeling generous, so I buy everyone’s dinner. Bestie, hubby, and I watch TV, vape, and eat to our hearts' content. Can I marry hot sauce? $27.90

Daily Total: $34.98
8 of 8
Money Diaries are meant to reflect individual women’s experiences and do not necessarily reflect Refinery29’s point of view. Refinery29 in no way encourages illegal activity or harmful behavior.

The first step to getting your financial life in order is tracking what you spend — to try on your own, check out our guide to managing your money every day. For more money diaries, click here.

Have a money diary you'd like to share?
Send it to us at https://you.refinery29.com/submit-money-diary.
Advertisement