How To Stop Freaking Out (Most Of The Time)

1Photo: Courtesy of Eyla.
As part of Kundalini yoga teacher training, we are required to complete two, 40-day meditations in order to develop a daily practice of sadna. The first set is for 11 minutes daily, and the second is for 31 minutes.
I’ll be honest, having just completed the first meditation, the 11 minutes didn’t scare me too much, but the longer meditation coming up seems a lot more daunting. I have meditated for that length of time, but not for 40 days in a row. However, I understand this is part of the process, and most importantly, I can attest to the profound shifts that happen as a result of doing this and the incredible power behind this meditation. Life-changing.
Let me explain. The meditation is done for 40 consecutive days. If one day is missed, you must start over at day one. So, if you get to day 39 and do not complete the last one, you’re back to the beginning. 40 days is chosen because it is historically a sacred time period, referred to as the duration for causing change and transformation in many ancient texts. It makes or breaks a habit within a person, and if you are consistent, it can bring much spiritual growth, including clearing subconscious patterns and setting up new ones.
You do not have to meditate at the same time every day, although, between 4 a.m. and 6 a.m. is the most powerful time to do so. Known as the “Amrit Vela,” or time of nectar, meditating during this period will be more powerful because it is just before the sunrise, your body is refreshed from sleep, and all is still and quiet. If you’re not a morning person, another time to meditate for greatest impact is during sunset or the hours of 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. This is based on the sun’s angle to the earth.
This specific meditation is for healing and protection, and invokes the power of compassion, service, and love. You can also use this to project health, healing, and protection on someone who may need it. To do this meditation, sit comfortably with back straight (this helps quiet the mind), eyes closed, hands on knees in Gian Mudra (thumb and index finger touching) or with palms up. Vibrate each sound on the corresponding chakra and illuminate it from within. The term Wahe Guru (Wha-hay guroo) means the experience of going from darkness to light, or from ignorance to understanding. So, through knowledge and experience, you are led to your true nature.
Start with seven minutes a day, and build up to 11 minutes. The effects will be profound. Do not get caught up on the words. If thoughts arise, observe them and then let them go, placing them on a cloud floating by. You will go through various emotions; they are all part of the process. Observe each, and watch how you shift during this time. Enjoy.
Guru — 1st chakra (anus)
Guru — 2nd chakra (reproductive organs)
Wahe — 3rd chakra (naval point)
Guru — 4th chakra (heart center)
Guru — 5th chakra (throat center)
Ram — 6th chakra (3rd eye point)
Das — 7th chakra (crown or top of head)
Guru — 8th chakra (aura)

More from Spirit


R29 Original Series