How Hard Is It To Get An Abortion In Every Single State?

For those who believe women should have access to safe and legal abortion services, it’s a dark time in the United States. It seems like every other day there’s a new headline announcing a new bill restricting abortion procedures, adding unreasonable requirements for providers, or putting unnecessary burdens on women seeking care, in what feels like a coast-to-coast effort to regulate women’s bodies. The fight is waging across the country, and has been ever since Roe v. Wade was decided in 1973, but depending on where you live, your ability to access an abortion looks very different.

As long as Roe v. Wade stands, states can regulate abortion (before the point of fetal viability) as they see fit. It has allowed anti-abortion politicians to go on the offensive: In the first six months of 2017 alone, a total of 431 provisions restricting abortion access were introduced at the state level. Out of these, 41 had become law by June.

Among the states that have enacted these new laws, Arkansas, Arizona, Iowa, and Texas have gone above and beyond in their effort to curb reproductive rights, with measures that include a 20-week ban, banning the second trimester procedure known as dilatation and evacuation, requiring the burial or cremation of fetal remains, and increasing the number of medical records requested by a provider in an effort to prevent people choosing abortion based on the sex of the fetus.

At the federal level, the executive and legislative branches’ effort to defund Planned Parenthood and other medical centers that provide abortion services illustrates just how little regard there is for women’s healthcare in general.

But let’s take a look at some of the state legislation, shall we? If you live in Louisiana, Mississippi, North Dakota, or South Dakota, and Roe v. Wade happens to be overturned, you’re going to be screwed. Under their current laws, these four states would automatically make abortion illegal the moment the decision is reversed.

Even with Roe v. Wade still standing, plenty of states have been able to make it really difficult to access abortion care. As of now, over half of all states have implemented mandatory counseling and waiting periods. A study conducted in Utah, which sports a 72-hour waiting period, found the measure does not change women’s minds about having the procedure, but it does increase the cost by about 10%. The same effect has been seen in Texas, among other states. Of course having to wait three days isn’t the only hurdle. There’s that 20-week ban in some states, laws requiring parental consent for a minor seeking an abortion — with no exceptions for cases of rape or incest, and the list goes on.

We have decades of historical data proving Americans stand behind a woman’s right to choose — most people in the United States believe abortion should be legal in some capacity. But how many Americans can safely make that choice right now?

Ahead, we break down the current abortion laws and restrictions in every state and Washington, D.C. We will continue to update this as new laws are enacted or struck down.

This story was originally published on June 27, 2017.

ALABAMA

Mandatory counseling and 48-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials in person or by mail, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 48 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger, or her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

Parental consent: The parents of women under the age 18 must consent to the procedure.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Alabama’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same goes for public funds.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
ALASKA

Mandatory counseling: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure.

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can receive public funds for an abortion if their health is in danger.
ARIZONA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, parts of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women need to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Obamacare, Medicaid, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Arizona’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. On the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when the woman's life is endangered or her health is severely compromised. Women on Medicaid won’t receive any coverage, even when the procedure is considered medically necessary.

“Born alive” provision: This provision requires doctors to see "all available means and medical skills are used” to save a fetus in the event an abortion results in a live birth, even if the infant has no chance of surviving outside of the womb. (There’s already a federal law that allows medical professionals to evaluate whether to do this on a case-by-case basis.)

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
ARKANSAS

Mandatory counseling and 48-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials in person or by mail, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. (Some of the materials include things such as a list of adoption agencies or the gestational age of what the state calls the “unborn child.”) They must wait 48 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of rape, incest, danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Publicly funded health plans and those under Alabama’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

D&E procedure ban: A common second-trimester procedure known as dilatation and evacuation has been banned.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
CALIFORNIA

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
COLORADO

Public funding and health insurance restrictions: Abortion is not covered by public employees' health insurance. Public funds are available for abortion in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.
CONNECTICUT

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
DELAWARE

Public funding: Public funds are available for abortion in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.

Parental notification: For patients under 16, a parent must be notified at least 48 hours before the procedure takes place. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances.
FLORIDA

Parental notification: For patients under 18, a parent must be notified at least 24 hours before the procedure takes place. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances, such as she is or has been married, has been emancipated, or if she already has a child. However, the notification can’t be waived in cases of rape or incest.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Florida’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same goes for public funds.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.
GEORGIA

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of a pregnancy that is not viable, danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Georgia’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life or health. On the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when their life is endangered. Public funding is available only in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
HAWAII

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
IDAHO

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Public funding, Obamacare, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Idaho’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Private insurers only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life. On the health insurance plan offered to public employees, abortion is only covered when their life is endangered. Public funding is available only in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
ILLINOIS

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.
INDIANA

Mandatory counseling and 18-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person. Some of the materials are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 18 hours after being counseled before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Indiana’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is also only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
IOWA

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.

Public funding and Medicaid: Public funds are available in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The use of Medicaid funds for an abortion must be approved by the governor.

Third trimester ban: An abortion may be performed in the third trimester only when the woman's life or health is endangered.
KANSAS

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Kansas’ Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
KENTUCKY

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Kentucky’s Obamacare stipulations and private insurers cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life. Abortion is not covered under the health insurance plans for public employees. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, unless the woman’s life is in danger or her physical health is severely compromised.
LOUISIANA

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except when a pregnancy is not viable, danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare and public funding: Health plans under Louisiana’s Obamacare stipulations may not cover abortion. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
MAINE

Public funding: Public funds are available in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.
MARYLAND

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
MASSACHUSETTS

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.
MICHIGAN

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Michigan’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only when the woman's life or health is endangered.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
MINNESOTA

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, some of which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.
MISSISSIPPI

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

18-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 18 weeks, except in case of severe fetal impairment, danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Mississippi’s Obamacare stipulations cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or danger to the mother’s life. The health insurance plans for public employees and public funding can cover abortion in cases of life endangerment, rape, incest, or fetal impairment.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
MISSOURI

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Missouri’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only when the woman's life or health is endangered.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
MONTANA

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only when the woman's life or health is endangered.
NEBRASKA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Nebraska’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
NEVADA

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.
NEW HAMPSHIRE

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.
NEW JERSEY

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
NEW MEXICO

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
NEW YORK

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.
NORTH CAROLINA

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Michigan’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same applies to public funding.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
NORTH DAKOTA

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state.

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under North Dakota’s’ Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

FDA restriction: Abortion medication must be administered following FDA protocol.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
OHIO

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

FDA restriction: Abortion medication must be administered following FDA protocol.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure, and the provider must test for a fetal heartbeat. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Ohio’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
OKLAHOMA

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling materials, which are designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in case of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Oklahoma’s Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
OREGON

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
PENNSYLVANIA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Pennsylvania’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
RHODE ISLAND

24-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Public funding and health insurance restrictions: Health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
SOUTH CAROLINA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under the age of 17 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure. Providers can waive that requirement in some circumstances.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 24 weeks, except when the pregnancy is considered “medically futile,” or there’s danger to the mother’s life or health.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Ohio’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
SOUTH DAKOTA

Roe v. Wade: If Roe v. Wade is overturned, abortion would automatically become illegal in the state

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under South Dakota’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life or health. The same goes for public funds.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
TENNESSEE

Mandatory counseling and 48-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 48 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Tennessee’s Obamacare conditions are not allowed to cover abortions. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
TEXAS

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

FDA restriction: Abortion medication must be administered following FDA protocol.

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.

Ultrasound requirement: Women need to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

D&E procedure ban: A common second-trimester procedure known as dilatation and evacuation has been banned.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.

Obamacare and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Texas' Obamacare stipulations, private insurers, and health insurance plans for public employees won't cover abortion except in cases of a narrowly defined "medical emergency." There's no exceptions for rape, incest, or fetal abnormalities.
UTAH

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Mandatory counseling and 72-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 72 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Viability: An abortion may be performed at or after viability only in cases of incest, rape, fetal anomaly, or when the woman's life or health is endangered.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Utah’s Obamacare stipulations and health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, fetal impairment, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, fetal anomaly, rape, or incest.
VERMONT

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
VIRGINIA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Third trimester ban: An abortion may be performed in the third trimester only when the woman's life or health is endangered.

Ultrasound requirement: Women need to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer the patient the option of looking at the image.

Obamacare, public funding, and health insurance restrictions: Health plans under Virginia’s Obamacare stipulations cover abortion only in cases of rape, incest, or when the mother’s life is in danger. Health insurance plans for public employees cover abortion only in cases of danger to the mother’s life, fetal impairment, rape, or incest. Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, fetal anomaly, rape, or incest.
WASHINGTON

Public funding: Women who qualify for state medical assistance can obtain public funds for an abortion. Unlike other states, there are no restrictions, such as a medical justification requirement.
WASHINGTON, D.C.

Public funding: Public funds are available for abortion in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest.
WEST VIRGINIA

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental notification: For patients under the age of 18, a parent must be notified of the procedure. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except when the pregnancy is not viable, it's a danger to the mother’s life or when her physical health is severely compromised.
WISCONSIN

Mandatory counseling and 24-hour waiting period: Women must receive counseling in person, which is designed to discourage them from going through with the procedure. They must wait 24 hours after receiving the materials before undergoing the procedure.

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure. Providers can waive this requirement in certain circumstances.

Ultrasound requirement: Women must have an ultrasound before being able to undergo the procedure. The abortion provider must offer them the option of looking at the image.

20-week ban: Abortion procedures are banned after 20 weeks, except in cases of danger to the mother’s life, or when her physical health is severely compromised.

Public funding and Obamacare restrictions: Health plans under Wisconsin’s Obamacare conditions can only cover abortions in cases of danger to the mother’s life, rape, or incest. The same goes for public funds.

Telemedicine restriction: The state bans the use of telemedicine to obtain abortion medication, which is used to end pregnancy in the first trimester.
WYOMING

Parental consent: Anyone under 18 must have a parent's consent in order to undergo the procedure.

Public funding: Public funding is only available in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.